Learn IDE 3 is faster and performs better than the Learn IDE 2. 

You are basically getting a "new computer" every time you open the application (though we store some configurations on your behalf to get that "computer" working quickly for you). 

Here are some new changes to look forward to: 

IDE 3 Workflow

With Learn IDE 3, you are basically getting a "new computer" every time you open the application (though we store some configurations on your behalf to get that "computer" working quickly for you). 

This means you won’t see a long list of all of your files/directories in the file tree, but only the files needed for the specific lab you are working on. 

For the best workflow, we recommend opening the application by clicking the "Open" button from your lab page on Learn, or running learn open. The IDE will open a "new computer" for that lab (a new IDE window), and your progress will be saved on Github so that we can restore it should you need to revisit that lab in the future.

IDE 3 Temporary Directory

When you launch the IDE without using the "Open" button or running learn open, we are placing you in the "temporary" directory to indicate that the Learn IDE will not automatically do anything to persist files or directories created during that session. 

In other words, the "temporary" directory is just that: a temporary workspace. If you want to store anything created here, it would be best to back it up to a repository on Github - we do not save that work to GitHub for you. 

Did this answer your question?